DNA Double Helix

IMG_5333IMG_5339IMG_5337

dna-163466_960_720

For reference (in case you forgot from biology)

My school’s science club is having a summer meeting/party which inspired me to create a science related origami. I tried creating something that would be impressive to anybody, not just another origami artist, and I thought of Jeremy Shafer’s interlocking rings, two seemingly interlocking rings made from a single sheet of paper, no cuts, no glue, just folding. I used a similar principle to create the twist. I particularly like the lock used on the larger pairs of nucleotides (the things bridging the twisting structure); it uses the same principle as alternating pages between to phone books creating a fairly stable lock. The center base pairs do not lock and are just held there by the outer pairs. It took me a couple tries to get a model that held together and I might try creating a version with more pairs or a complete twist in the future.

Folded from a single sheet of square, uncut printer paper.

Leave a Reply

